La Villiaze, Guernsey GY8 0DS, Guernsey
Guernsey Airport is a minor international airport on the island of Guernsey and also largest airport in the Bailiwick of Guernsey.
38 Hauteville, St Peter Port, Guernsey GY1 1DG
Victor Hugo House
Literary lovers can walk in the footsteps of one of the most celebrated authors of the 19th century.
French author and poet Victor Hugo spent 15 years in exile in Guernsey from 1855 and the island provided the inspiration for many of his fine works, including Les Miserables and Toilers of the Sea.
Hugo fell in love with Guernsey and his island home, Hauteville House, offers fans a chance to experience how he lived - and see where he wrote some of his most famous books and poems.
His writing room, the Crystal Room, is at the top of the eclectic house and has panoramic views across the ever-changing capital St Peter Port, out to sea and across to his homeland, France.
But it isn't just his unique home in the heart of the island where you can walk the paths of one of the most controversial and fascinating writers of his time.
Take a dip where he swam in the clear waters of Havelet Bay, walk his favourite coastal path to Fermain Bay or take a stroll down to one of the island's prettiest bays Moulin Huet. Walk out to the exposed headland at Pleinmont with breath-taking views across to the Hanois Lighthouse and continue on up the length of the west coast to Port Soif, a favourite stretch of the island's coastline which provided inspiration for the writer.
It is not hard to see why Hugo was captivated by the islands.
While the writer is remembered for his life's works, his private life was equally fascinating.
Although married to childhood friend Adèle Foucher - they had five children together - he had a number of lovers throughout his life, most notably French actress Juliette Drouet.
She became his secretary and travelling companion, a relationship that lasted 50 years, and sacrificed her career to follow the love of her life to Guernsey when he and his family were exiled. She is mentioned often in the biography of Victor Hugo and thousands of letters between the pair have been recorded.
It is said that they secretly met at the top of Victoria Tower. Built to commemorate a visit to the island by Queen Victoria and Prince Albert, it offers unparalleled views across St Peter Port. If you look closely you might find their initials - VH and JD - which were etched somewhere into its interior granite walls.
Hugo began, completed or published the majority of the works for which he is best known whilst living here, in particular 'Les Contemplations' (1856), 'Les Misérables' (1862), 'La Legende des siecles' (1877), 'William Shakespeare' (1864), 'Les Chansons des rues et des bois' (1865), 'Les Travailleurs de la mer' (1866), 'L'Homme qui rit' (1869), and 'Quatre-Vingt-Treize' (1874).
The City of Paris preserves the two houses where Victor Hugo lived the longest: the Hôtel de Rohan-Guéménée in Place des Vosges in Paris, where for 16 years (from 1832 to 1848) he rented a 280 square-metre apartment on the second floor, and Hauteville House on the island of Guernsey, where he lived in exile for 15 years (from 1856 to 1870).
In 1851 the banned poet left France for an exile which would last 19 years, and after unsuccessful attempts at refuge in Brussels and Jersey, Hugo arrived on the shores of Guernsey in 1855.
On 16 May 1856, with the proceeds from his successful collection of poems Les Contemplations, Victor Hugo purchased Hauteville House in Guernsey; a large white building with a garden overlooking the sea. An enthusiastic collector of second-hand furniture and bric-à-brac, he brought back a profusion of chests, sideboards, carpets, mirrors, crockery, figurines and other objects from his excursions around the island. He put his boundless imagination to work on the house, spending months overseeing a major conversion on a medieval pattern, which gave this unique building an inner force and mystery. Hugo lived in Hauteville House until 1870, when he returned to France after the fall of the Second Empire, but he returned again for a year in 1872-73, for a week in 1875 and for four months in 1878.
In March 1927, the centenary year of the Romantic Movement, the house was donated to the City of Paris by the writer’s descendants Jeanne, Jean, Marguerite and François.
Hauteville House has been preserved exactly as it was. Hugo's abundant creativity is displayed in the astonishing richness of its decoration. As Charles Hugo put it, the house is "a veritable three-storey autograph, a poem in several rooms".
Hauteville House has some wonderful gardens which are included on a visit to the house.
Les Houards, Forest, Guernsey GY8 0BG
German Occupation Museum
The German Occupation Museum is located on the small island of Guernsey in the Channel Islands and is owned and operated by Richard Heaume. It all began when Richard the schoolboy began collecting spent bullets in the local fields after the plough had gone by. In June 1966 Richard`s parents allowed him to use the cottage opposite their house to display his collection, bit-by-bit, purpose-built extensions to the small farming cottage, starting in 1976 with the transport corridor and tea room, in 1987 with the superb Occupation Street, and more recently in 2001 a further small extension housing a thought-provoking prison with information about the islands deportees and the tragic story of the Jewess taken away to the Nazi's Auschwitz concentration camp. The museum is now an extensive collection of original Occupation items and documents including many extremely rare pieces.
GY1 6JN, Guernsey
This 800 year old castle standing at the mouth of the harbour and much bigger than it first appears. Explore five museums and four period gardens and feel free to enjoy the daily attractions which include a guided tour at 10.30am and the firing of the noon-day gun by scarlet clad gunners. Stay to see a Living History performance after the gun firing and look out for other activities and special events. The Castle is bigger than you might think so to make the most of your trip, allow at least three hours.
Just a short walk from the town centre, the Castle not only offers a fascinating insight into hundreds of years of island history - but spectacular panoramic views back towards St Peter Port and out across our sister islands.
The story of the castle and other aspects of Guernsey's past can be found in the five museums housed within the Castle. These comprise of The Story of Castle Cornet, 201 Squadron (RAF) Museum, Maritime Museum, Royal Guernsey Light Infantry Museum and Royal Guernsey Militia Museum.
There are four historic gardens within the castle walls, lovingly tended by the castle Keepers who keep them free from weeds, dead-headed and watered daily. The keepers have also recently transformed many areas of the castle not acknowledged as formal gardens but which serve to make the castle a interesting horticultural experience.
The Governor's Garden follows the layout of the Bastide plan quite closely and is planted up in the formal 17th century style of a knot garden.
The Sutler’s kept a kitchen garden, growing herbs, vegetables and fruit and an adjacent area called a 'plaisance'. Planted with roses and passion flower and hollyhocks and with a camomile lawn for the enjoyment of the officers who resided in the castle.
Lambert's Garden is laid out following 17th century patterns and is situated near the building where General Sir John Lambert had been imprisoned in 1660 for his part in the English Civil War. The garden has been planted with the same varieties of herbs and flowers he would have used to make medicinal remedies to treat the ailments of the soldiers within the castle.
The fourth formal garden in the castle - the Master Gunner's Garden - is laid out in a 19th century domestic pattern. The area is east-facing and subject to the harsh and salty seas that would have made growing difficult. The raised bed most likely would have kept some caged animals, perhaps goats kept for their milk and rabbits to eat.
Visitors may enjoy these gardens at their own pace or look out for special garden tours on selected weekends in the summer.
A guided tour begins at 10.30am every morning and the Noonday gun is fired daily by soldiers in 19th century costume - a must-see for any visitors. Most days throughout the season, the Guernsey History in Action Company re-enacts stories from Guernsey's past and the Regency Dancers can sometimes be found performing in the Hatton Gallery. For more information on the times of these performances, check their website or contact the Guernsey Information Centre on 01481 723552. There are self-guided trails and a treasure hunt perfect for children to enjoy and so much space that a secluded spot for quiet reflection can always be found even on the busiest of days. A café overlooking Herm and Sark and a gift shop will complete your visit to the castle and make you always glad that you made the time.
Admission: Adults: £10.50, Children 7+/Students: £3, Children under 7: FREE,
Discovery Pass £18 - An Annual pass that gives you unlimited seasonal entry to Castle Cornet, Guernsey Museum in Candie Gardens and Fort Grey - all accompanying children go free.
The Castle will be opening earlier in 2017
17th February - 30th March: 10am - 3pm (No noonday gun or cafe)
Normal hours from 31st March:
10am – 5pm / 9.30am - 5pm July and August.
29 October (Sunday) Closes
Sausmarez Manor, Sausmarez Road, St. Martins, Guernsey GY4 6SG
ArtParkS Sculpture Park
With so many Artists clamouring to exhibit here you can be certain of lots of surprises and pleasures in all sorts and sizes with prices to suit every pocket. You don’t have to buy to enjoy, but you will be unlikely find such a variety anywhere in Britain or Europe to choose from if you do.
Rocquaine GY7 9BY
Fort Grey Shipwreck Museum
Known locally as the "Cup and Saucer", Fort Grey is a Martello Tower built in 1804 to defend Guernsey's west coast. Many vessels have come to grief on this beautiful but treacherous coast, and the Martello Tower now houses the Shipwreck Museum with a surprising variety of objects recovered from the wrecks. The information panels tell the gripping stories surrounding the disasters which date from the HMS Sprightly in 1777 to the Vermontborg in 2003.
From April to September, meet the Militiaman on alternate Tuesdays at 11.15am. check the Guernsey History in Action website for details www.historyinaction.com
Admission: Adults £4, children 7+ and students £1.50, accompanied children under 7 years FREE
Discovery Pass £18 - an annual pass that gives you unlimited seasonal entry to Castle Cornet, Guernsey Museum in Candie Gardens and Fort Grey - all accompanying children go free.
Open daily, from 31 March - 29 Oct, 10am - 4.30pm. Ticket purchase, shop, café, toilets and parking all at Guernsey Pearl.
Perry's guide reference: Page 20 A5
College St, Guernsey GY1 2NZ
Guernsey Tapestry Gallery
1000 years of local history in ten embroidered panels.
The Guernsey Tapestry Gallery houses The Bailiwick of Guernsey Millennium Tapestry, a project that involved the whole community. It illustrates 1000 years of local history in ten panels of embroidered canvas work, each panel covering one century. The original aim of the project was to provide a lasting reminder of the Millennium celebrations, involve the whole community and encourage people to look more deeply in to the Island’s history. The panels were stitched by the residents of the Bailiwick with each one bearing the crest of the parish that stitched it. The story in each panel is brought to life by an audio guide which is available in English, French and German. The Gallery provides a permanent home for the Tapestry where it is preserved and displayed for the enjoyment of all.
In the gift shop you will find unique gifts, souvenirs, inspirational embroidery books and yarns.
St Andrew's, Guernsey
German Military Underground Hospital
The largest construction in the Channel Islands at 7,000 square metres, the underground hospital was hewn out of solid rock by slave workers who had been captured by German forces during the occupation of the island during World War Two. Construction began in the winter of 1940 and was built underground so as not to be seen by overhead planes given the site was also used as an ammunition store. The hospital is truly an eerie insight into life on the island at the time.
Admission: Children £1, Adults £3.50
Opening: Open Daily: April: 2pm - 4pm. May - October: 10am - 12pm (Closed Monday's in October) and 2pm - 4pm. November & March: Limited opening
Closed: December, January, February. Please check with the Guernsey Information Centre for details.
Perry's guide reference: Page 23 G4
Accessible using the following bus routes: 71
Blanchelande Girls College, Les Vauxbelets, St. Andrew's, Guernsey GY6 8XY, United Kingdom
The chapel was originally built by Brother Déodat in March 1914 (measuring 9 feet long by 4.5 feet wide). After taking criticism from other brothers, Déodat demolished the chapel. He finished a second chapel in July 1914 (measuring 9 feet by 6 feet). However, when the Bishop of Portsmouth visited in 1923, he could not fit through the door, so Déodat again demolished it. The third and current version of the chapel started soon after the last demolition, and measures 16 feet by 9 feet. Déodat went to France in 1939 and died there, never having seen his chapel finished.
In 1977, a committee was established to restore the chapel, and today it falls under the care of Blanchelande College.
In 2010, five stained glass windows were smashed, causing £3,000 worth of damage and leading to condemnation of the vandals. The windows had been smashed previously, notably three times in 2003. The chapel has been described as "probably the biggest tourist attraction in Guernsey", and "intricate"
In late 2013, there was major work on the overgrowth which was, in places, hiding parts of the chapel.
In November 2015 it was closed to allow some major structural work to be undertaken.The works include underpinning the building, stabilising the foundations and weatherproofing the building, and are estimated to cost £500,000. Fundraising is being undertaken.
Fully open again to the public in April 2017, the major works such as stabilising the foundations are complete however additional fundraising is needed to finish the final phase of renovation.
The Little Chapel is decorated with seashells, pebbles, and broken china. "From a distance the colours and design make a pleasing whole, close-up it's amazing to see all the different pieces used to create the effect." It has room for around eight people.
The chapel was brought sudden fame following a Daily Mirror article, which led to islanders donating coloured china; the Lieutenant-Governor of the island offered mother of pearl, and other gifts came from around the globe.
The mosaic style is "pique-assiette" or "Picassiette" (a French term based on a pun blending pique-assiette – literally, plate-pincher, the sort of person crashing into a party to enjoy a free meal – and famous artist Pablo Picasso). According to Mosaic Art Source, "[P]ieces of broken pottery, china, glass, buttons, figurines, and/[or] jewelry are cemented onto a base to create a new surface. Almost any form can be used as a base, and any combination of pieces can be applied, restricted only by the individual creator's imagination."The style was the nickname of a French Art Brut artist, Raymond Isidore, who decorated his house near Chartres, known as Maison Picassiette, much in the same style as the Little Chapel.
Lihou is a small island situated just off the west coast of Guernsey and accessed by a causeway at low tide for about two weeks every month. Lihou island has had a fascinating and varied history as well as having interesting wildlife, both above and below the high water mark.
The States of Guernsey bought Lihou Island in 1995 to guarantee access for the people of Guernsey and visitors alike. The general public are welcome to visit the island when the causeway is open. The Environment Department of the States of Guernsey are responsible for the island whilst The Lihou Charitable Trust are responsible for the house and its grounds.
The house and its facilities are orientated towards youth and school groups but also accommodates adult gatherings. The Trust has a 'Robin Hood' scale of charges that benefit the young. These charges are kept as low as possible.
Lihou Island is a fantastic location enabling residents to enjoy the peace and tranquility that can be sadly absent from modern life. There is no television or music system in the house but there are engaging views that are ever changing with the weather, light and tides.
Lihou is a very important nesting and roosting habitat for gulls and waders as well as migrating visitors and as such any planned activity on the Island must take this into consideration.
The house is available to anyone who wishes to book it. However due to unfortunate past experiences we do not cater for 18th, 21st birthday or stag parties. Some activities such as archery, abseiling and climbing may be booked at an extra cost and subject to the availability of the warden and weather and so on.
La Vallette, St Peter Port GY1 1AX, Guernsey
In 1967 the Guernsey Aquarium was transformed from Second World War tunnels into the specialist fish, local water and fish sanctuary aquarium it is today. Originally a single tunnel built by locals in 1864 as a short-cut through the cliff side, the Germans recruited Russian and Polish slaves to dig the three adjoining tunnels to store ammunition and light vehicles.
The Guernsey Aquarium is now a hub for local fish keepers and reptile enthusiasts alike. Our Aquatic and Reptile shop has everything you need, and at very competitive prices. Whether you're a young beginner just starting a new hobby, or a weathered pro, we offer professional advice and services on all aspects of aquarium care, reptile husbandry and pond maintenance, 7 days a week.